Summer team

James Gilbert

James Gilbert

In-Camp Staff


My name is James Gilbert and I have just graduated from school in Australia. I have 3 older sisters, and a younger sister if you count my dog Ella, with the largest age difference being 13 years, so I have plenty of role models in my life, and I want to take this opportunity to do the same to others. I have moved to 3 schools before so I have experience in meeting new people, and putting myself out there in varying situations, have engaged in public speaking which has been a major goal of mine to increase my confidence and my speaking skills throughout my final year of school, and I plan to continue with my goals. I am extremely passionate about excelling in sports and trying new activities, and I would love to share that passion with other people throughout my life, as it has been so positive for my physical and mental health.

What are you most proud of/biggest achievement in life so far?:

My biggest achievement in life so far was improving in public speaking. In year 9 public speaking became a fear for me which affected my ability to be confident in myself as a consequence. However public speaking taught me that small and marginal increases outside your comfort zone and growth can start as a small achievement such as even speaking up in a small class, to eventually doing speeches. This helped with my confidence to further meet new people, and have amazing discussions. This demonstrates the importance of how trusting the process with small marginal improvement can lead to major growth, in a way that isn't overwhelming.
What is your favorite hobby/sport/thing to do during your free time?:

Tennis is what I'm most passionate about. I have been playing tennis since I was five years old. I was in the 2nds tennis at St Aloysius College when I was in year 9, participated in CAS tennis (2017). Although it is mentally tough it has always given me stability in my life and is a challenge that I enjoy.
What is your favorite thing about working with children?:

In Year 11 I did peer support for a year. This involved playing handball, and basketball, and chatting to the year 6 students every Friday at lunch as a buddy system. Additionally, I was involved in CAS athletics which involved younger year groups, and water polo when i was in my final year of high school. This was a way for me to be a role model to the upcoming year 12s as well as create a positive and supportive atmosphere. That's my favorite thing as it challenges me to become energetic, compassionate, and sensitive toward other people, bringing out the best version of myself, and trying to show the younger kids that they are heard and respected as I know as a child It was important to me.
What impact are you most excited to make this year at CCB?:

I'm most excited to engage in all the activities with the students and meet all the new people there. I have always enjoyed summer camps as a kid, and this is an opportunity to give back and create an amazing experience for the kids and myself in this fun and energetic environment. I want to give an experience in which the kids can say this when they are older and remember this as a positive aspect of their life. I want the kids to be satisfied with the growth that they have made at the camp, the friends they have met, and the experiences they have had.
What goal or camp philosophy do you really want your campers to learn this summer?:

Being compassionate to each other and yourself is important in meeting new people, making friends, and having positive interactions with people, as well as trying in everything and giving everything a go as that's the best way to find something that interests you, which I why I'm going to try to do the same at this camp.

Error Message